GOOD BYE 2010, HELLO 2011


   As I sit here in a silent house alone, watching the moments tick by awaiting the New Year, I can’t help but reflect on the year gone by. For the most part it was typical and predictable, but there were those moments of extreme joys and devastating pains and maybe its in those moments that we end up finding ourselves.

  I know for me this past year has tested my personal strength in ways it has never been tested before, and while I would like to boast that I survived it all, the honest truth is I didn’t. What I did come away with were some lessons hard learned that I will carry with me for the rest of my life, so let me share just a few of them with you all.

Lesson one: No matter how much you want to change people you can’t, so you have 2 choices. Either you accept them for who and what they are or you cut them out of your life completely.

 I have had to make both choices this past year but I am heading into 2011 on a brighter note because of it.

Lesson two: Nothing is forever, and nothing is so valuable that you can’t live without it.

  I have learned to let go of things because I have been given no choice and that’s ok because the memories I have can never be taken.

Lesson three: Tomorrow will come, but yesterday is lost forever so don’t waste time on the petty things.

   I don’t know how many tomorrows I will see but I plan on making each one count for me for a change even if they don’t count for anyone else in my life.

Lesson four: Trying to hold on to someone or something because you are afraid of what will happen if you let go will only cause YOU pain.

   It’s scary to let go but I have come to understand that letting go is sometimes the only way to find peace of mind.

And Lesson Five: There is no such thing as the perfect family.

   This was the hardest of all the lessons I learned this past year. No matter how much I may want that family I had growing up, I must just accept the fact that the one I have will never be the same. Time, distance and life has all played a part in making us who we are. While we share a name we don’t share our lives.

  Yes, 2010 taught me a lot but I am hoping that 2011 will teach those I love the most that NOTHING matters if you don’t have someone to share it with.

HAPPY NEW YEAR TO ALL, may every lesson learned help you grow and change and may you create the memories you deserve.

Posted on December 31, 2010, in LIFE LESSONS and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Jim Poulos ( Jimmy)

    Terry I know you have reached out to hold your family together and your Mother and Father are proud of you. Most of your lessons learned are accurate but remember there is still Hope in Life and if you ask God to intervene in helping your family He will, Ann and I are praying for you and your family and we do expect results as we know God will perform for you. Put it in Gods hands and feel the Peace he will give you, Love Jimmy and Ann Poulos

Leave a Reply

