What I would Say to My 16-Year-Old Self


Someone asked me today what I would say to my 16 year old self if I had a chance and after thinking about it for a few moments I realized it was all the things my Mom had said to me at some point in my life and it is all the things I would now say not only to “my” sixteen year old self, but to my children as well and hope they would listen better than I did. So here it is….

Hey YOU listen up!!!

Self…here is my 15 best words of advise for a happy life!

1. Always eat the cream in the middle of an Oreo first!

2. Give the “geek” a chance if he asks you out!

3. Talk to your parents! I know you think they don’t know shit, but trust me they know a lot and are willing to share.

4. Give your brother a wedgie every chance you get then laugh!

5. STUDY STUDY STUDY…it may seem like wasted time now but its going to serve you well later on.

6. Do not be in a hurry to grow up! Your gonna have a lot of years to be an adult but only a few really good ones to be a kid…enjoy them!

7. If you know its wrong stick to your guns and walk away.

8. Do not believe him when he says…”if you love me you will” or “everyone else is”. If he loved you he wouldn’t ask and NO everyone else is NOT…they are just lying. They just want to fit in like you do.

9. NO you don’t know what being in love is yet…but you will someday.

10. Always be sure you like the person looking back in the mirror at you because they are the best friend you will ever have.

11. Never be afraid to say, “NO” or “I’m Sorry” and mean it.

12. Stop and ask yourself…”is this a memory I want to have” before you do something stupid.

13. Never miss a chance to say “i love you” to those who matter.

14. Like your brothers and sisters as much as you do your friends!

AND FINALLY…..

15. Never be afraid to be unique…it takes no effort to follow the crowd but it take someone special to lead the parade!

Powered by Plinky

Posted on September 21, 2010, in LIFE LESSONS and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I LOVE this post, because I was actually thinking about this the other day. I know there a few things I would say to myself at 16 all along the lines of staying in school because to be honest I barely scrapped by, I put in a 10% effort and pulled off straight c’s lord knows what I could have done if I actually applied myself. Now I would give anything to go back, put in the effort land a schollarship and be doing something I actually love.

    To go along with this post, have you ever considered what your 16 year old self would say to you? I know mine would go on some rant about being a 24 year old single parent statistic working for the Department of Treasury. Lame! Im okay with it, but I know my political-punk-rock-dont-take-crap-from-anyone-because-i-have-a-mohawk-and-listen-to-Anti-Flag 16 year old self would have quite a bit to say about it.

    nice blog =) insightful

    • Thanks for the kind words and for getting me thinking. What would my 16 year old self say to me? It is something I am going to have to consider now and you can be sure you will be seeing on here at some point in time. There really is always two sides to every coin and I would be doing myself an injustice if I didn’t at least have to courage to explore the other side of this one. I hope you will come back and see what advise “she” would give me.

Leave a Reply

